Recipes- Fresh Salsa

Posted: August 10, 2010 in Recipes
Tags: , ,

Tomatoes, Onions, Cilantro and Green Pepper

Fresh Salsa

For a great tasting, healthy treat make up a batch of salsa.

Whenever I go to a party I’m always asked to bring one thing: my salsa. It’s bursting with flavor and has a zing you don’t find in any jar, or even at many restaurants. Since Brynn, Chris and I are a bunch of wimps, you also won’t find any heat in this salsa. This low-calorie and low-fat recipe is great as a dressing on salad, to put over chicken or pork, to add to a baked potato or as a snack with tortilla chips. Just remember, tortilla chips can have lots of fat and calories, so read the label.  Since I’m not a nutritionist or have any way to measure calories for my personal recipes, I can’t provide calorie counts. Usually when I make this I don’t use any kind of measuring instruments and just throw in some of this and some of that, but for this batch, I actually measured most of the ingredients. A few I leave up to you, because you’re the one eating it, so you’ll need to add it to your taste.

Ingredients

7-9 Red ripe tomatoes (Roma or on the vine work best)
1/2 large onion
1/2 green pepper
cilantro
1 Tablespoon minced garlic
1/2 cup vinegar (white or balsamic)
1 Teaspoon lime juice
salt
pepper

Salsa ingredients in the food processorCut tomatoes, green pepper and onion into smaller pieces and place them into the food processor.  Cut some of the cilantro off of the bunch and add it to the food processor. Blend ingredients. Pour all the mixture into a bowl. Since this makes a large batch, you may need to repeat these steps.  I use the pulse option to get the right consistency. We like ours a little chunky, but with lots of juice. The riper the tomatoes, the juicier the salsa.

Next add the vinegar, garlic and lime juice to the bowl and stir. Now add salt and pepper to taste.

In the batch I made in the pictures, I used balsamic vinegar. I think this adds a little more zing than plain white vinegar and makes it darker in color, but it also adds calories and sugar. If you are watching your carbs and want the lowest calories possible, use the white vinegar.

As I stated before, we are wimps, but if you are not, feel free to add jalapeno peppers to kick up the heat level.

Chips and Salsa

Leave a Reply

